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TV Advertising… It’s Not Magic, It’s Math

cost per thousand
I’ve been talking about using TV (and radio) advertising to grow your business to $10MM and beyond.

In this blog post I’m going to give you a quick overview of how and why it works. I’ll cover all this in more detail in my upcoming (April 26& 27) 2-day seminar in Dallas, “Make The Jump To $10MM.”

But for now, the thumbnail sketch:

To grow at a rapid pace, you’ve got to get more customers. A LOT more customers. And to get more customers, more people have to find out about you somehow.

The key is getting in front of a lot of people—without spending a ton of money.

It’s kind of funny that I would use the phrase “without spending a ton of money” about something I routinely have my clients spending over a million dollars a year on.

But you can’t focus on the raw dollars spent. Instead, you have to consider how much it costs to reach each person. Or more specifically, how much it costs to reach a thousand people.

In advertising, we’re concerned with COST PER THOUSAND (aka CPM; M being the Roman numeral for 1,000).

Take direct mail as an example. Let’s say it costs $0.50 per piece of mail you send out. That means it will cost you $500 for every 1,000 people you reach… or a CPM of $500.  Even if your mail is cheaper–$0.35 per piece—that’s still a $350 CPM.

By contrast, TV and radio can be bought for between $2 and $10 per thousand.

That doesn’t mean you should never use direct mail. Direct mail has the benefit of being highly targeted. There are lots of situations where it makes perfect sense.

But when reaching out to the masses, TV can be up to 250 times less expensive.

That’s what you call SIMPLE MATH.

Which leads us to the next advantage TV has—its inexpensive enough that you can afford to hit people with the message again and again and again and again. And again.

Let’s say you’re paying $8 CPM on TV. For the same $350 to $500 it would take you to reach 1,000 people via direct mail, you can reach a person on the TV about 40 to 60 times.

FORTY TO SIXTY TIMES.

FORTY TO SIXTY TIMES!!!!!!!!

This is how you gain traction in a market—and fast.

In my upcoming seminar, “Make The Jump To $10MM,” I’ll show you scientific proof that massive repetition is the key to marketing success.

But you don’t need a rocket scientist to tell you that more is better when it comes to advertising. That’s also SIMPLE MATH.

Think about it—if you are on 2 or 3 TV stations and a couple of radio stations… and your competitors ARE NOT, you’re going to win.

Your lead flow will go up—and not just with any old leads. TV leads are the best kind—these people already KNOW you and TRUST you.

And it’s not just direct leads.  Your web traffic will jump. Your referrals will jump. Your PPC and SEO will work better. When you are on TV, EVERYTHING gets better. Everything.

And the good news: you can start small.

You don’t have to spend a million dollars and be on 2 or 3 TV stations to start.

We can start with one radio station. Or one TV station. I’ll discuss the pros and cons of each media in my course. But for now, who cares—just know that you can start small.

I just put a $4MM in Milwaukee on one TV station for $2,600 a week. They’ll be on that station about 35 weeks out of the year—that’s all the budget they have available right now.

You have to start somewhere!

The key is to dominate that station. Own it. And if you can’t afford to own the entire station, own one day of the week on that station. And if you can’t afford to own one day, own part of one day.

Whatever budget you have is enough to start.

But your ultimate goal should be a million dollars. ONE MILLION DOLLARS spent on radio and TV. Because that’s going to be the catalyst to getting your company to $10MM, and what is going to give you all the financial freedom you hope for and dream of.

Now, a few FAQs:

Q: I don’t even watch TV anymore. Does anyone watch TV?
A: More than enough to get you to $10MM.

Q: What about DVRs? Don’t people just zip past the commercials?
A: Some do, but we have strategies to minimize it… and as long as it’s working, who cares?

Q: We tried TV and it didn’t work. Why would it work now?
A: You almost certainly were doing something wrong. Call me and let’s talk about it. I can probably identify the problem in about 60 seconds.

Q: Isn’t it expensive to make TV commercials?
A: It doesn’t have to be. And if it is, who cares? As long as it’s making you money, that’s all that counts.

Q: How long does it take to achieve success on TV?
A: You need to commit to the long term. 12 months at least.

If you have other questions, or want to discuss your situation, just email me here.

The course will only be open to the first 10 companies who register—I want to be able to handle individual dialogue during the course. If you haven’t registered yet, you can do so by following this link.

Let’s get you to $10MM.

P.S. The ads you run make a huge difference. In my next post I’ll give you some ideas on how to write killer ads that really work.

 

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Click here to read more posts in my “Make The Jump” series:

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© 2017, Rich Harshaw. All rights reserved.

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