If you needed brain surgery, which of the following would you choose…
A. General Practitioner
Expertise: Deals with colds, the flu, chicken pox, and 752 other ailments.
Brain-Surgery Experience: None. The closest he ever gets to seeing a brain is when he peeks in your ears with his otoscope.
B. Renowned Neurosurgeon
Expertise: Handles ONLY neurosurgical procedures.
Brain-Surgery Experience: Has dedicated his life to neurosurgery. Graduated first in his class from the top neurosurgery school in the nation. Has performed 1,793 successful brain operations.
If your gray matter needs a tune-up, it’s obvious which of these two you’d choose to “peak under the hood.”
This is not a knock on general practitioners; they do one of the most important jobs in the world.
But let’s face it…
Certain things require the expertise of a specialist to ensure success.
…One of those things is pay per click.
If you’re a contractor, it can be tough to get good results by hiring a PPC “generalist.”
Unfortunately, 98% of PPC companies are generalists. They don’t specialize in any specific industry; they use the same strategies for EVERY type of business, whether you’re a contractor or a dentist or a car salesman or a brain surgeon.
And if you know anything about marketing, you know that “one size” does not fit all when it comes to consumers.
Sure, there are overlapping desires among consumers no matter what they’re buying. Someone buying a new television wants some of the same things as someone who’s remodeling their kitchen: quality, a good price, a sense of satisfaction with their purchase, and so on.
But those are surface-level, “big-picture” desires. There are industry-specific buying triggers for both of these markets. And they do not overlap.
Case in point: Many of MYM’s PPC clients have used PPC generalists, and here is some of what they experienced…
- Few leads (since their ads were not speaking directly to THEIR markets’ desires)
- Low-quality leads (since their ads were not optimized for the type of customer they wanted)
- High cost per lead (as a direct result from the low quality leads the campaign brought in)
- Low impression share (because their ads were not interesting to people, Google relegated them to the bottom of the search results page… or didn’t show them at all!)
The only way to identify and activate the industry-specific buying triggers of your market through PPC is with the experience and knowledge that comes with practice. Years upon years of practice.
I’d know… MYM is one of the only PPC providers that work exclusively in the remodeling and home improvement industry.
We have a crack team of PPC gurus who have almost a decade of experience in contractor PPC. They have worked out the absolute best keywords for the industry, the exact wording that remodeling and home improvement ads need to get maximum clicks, and everything a contractor’s PPC campaign needs to pull in leads at the lowest possible cost.
This is why we’re the only company that can offer No-Risk PPC Lead Generation. Utilizing our exclusive strategies, we guarantee contractors a cost per lead of $200 or less. Many times, a lot less than that—we’ve got clients with a cost per lead of less than $50!
Hey… contractor PPC may not be brain surgery. But it’s complex enough to require a specialist—not a generalist—to get maximum results.
For more info about MYM No-Risk PPC Lead Generation, shoot an email to firstname.lastname@example.org with your questions. We’ll get back to you quickly with the details you want.
I’d like you to take a look at one of our recently launched client websites. It’s for a concrete leveling company in Denver, Colorado.
Before I give you the link, I’d like to tell you a few things we did with this website. It’s a bit different than our other websites, and I believe some of the features are worth noting before you go exploring.
- Instead of a static image for the header, we inserted the client’s existing video of tradesmen leveling concrete. This is an awesome way to grab attention.
- The “How Concrete Leveling Works” section of the homepage distills the benefits of concrete leveling into easily digestible numbers. The reader immediately understands the advantages of the service.
- A powerful Identity is present throughout the website. It conveys why concrete leveling is better than other solutions, AND why the client is the best choice for concrete leveling in the area. Two birds; one stone.
Here’s the link: https://www.cretejack.com/
If you need help with your internet marketing, get in touch. Pick up the phone and call (817) 416-4333, or use the chat function to talk to someone right now.
P.S. Don’t forget… MYM just launched a groundbreaking PPC program called No-Risk PPC Lead Generation.
- You pick the amount of leads—no budgeting necessary.
- You pay for the leads only AFTER we supply them.
- Your cost per lead will NEVER exceed $200. Ever.
For all the details, email the PPC Team, or head on over to our No Risk PPC information page.
In my last post, I mentioned that it’s possible for No-Risk PPC Lead Generation to finance the growth of your company.
In a nutshell…
You start with a certain amount of leads—however many you want. You make sales off those leads and put a portion of that money back into your PPC campaign. Every month, you increase the number of leads, and therefore increase your sales.
Wash. Rinse. Repeat. To infinity… and beyond.
Buzz Lightyear approves.
Now, let’s break down the actual numbers.
Say you’re a contractor that wants to start with 60 PPC leads and steadily increase that number every month. Here’s how that would go…
- 60 leads x $200 per lead = $12,000.
- Note: $200 per lead is the MAXIMUM you will spend. But we’ll go with it for this first month.
- Out of those 60 leads, let’s say you close 25%. That’s 15 sales.
- Your average sale is $10,000. Fifteen sales times $10,000 is $150,000.
- Result: You invest $12,000 and sell $150,000. (ROI = 1,150%)
- If your gross margins are 50%, that means you make $75,000 in gross profit; subtracting out lead costs and sales commissions should still NET you $25k to $40k.
- Invest SOME of those profits into more leads (and possibly more infrastructure to handle more leads) the next month…
Month 2 (your campaign is more optimized, so your cost per lead is lower):
- 100 leads x $170 per lead = $17,000.
- Out of those 100 leads, you close 25%. That’s 25 sales.
- Twenty-five sales times $10,000 is $250,000.
- Result: You invest $17,000 and make $250,000. (ROI = 1,370.59%)
- Keep going! Ramp it up even more!
Month 3 (your cost per lead is now even LESS):
- 160 leads x $140 per lead = $21,000.
- Out of those 160 leads, you close 25%. That’s 40 sales.
- Forty sales times $10,000 is $400,000.
- Result: You invest $21,000 and make $400,000. (ROI = 1,804.59%)
- Boom. Once that snowball starts rolling downhill, it keeps gaining steam and getting bigger.
You might be saying, “But Rich, my close rates aren’t that high.” Or, “But Rich, my average sale is $8K, not $10K.”
Doesn’t matter. Just adjust the numbers. Start with a smaller number of leads. Then work your way up.
I’ll do a more conservative example to prove it still works…
- 30 leads per month x $200 per lead = $6,000.
- Out of those 30 leads, you close 15%. That’s “4.5” sales. But let’s round down to 4 sales in keeping with our “conservative” approach to the numbers.
- At an $8,000 sales average, that comes to $32,000.
- Result: You invest $6,000 and make $32,000. (ROI = 433.33%)
Then follow the steps in the first set of examples above for months two, three, and beyond.
If you want to know how many PPC leads are available in your market, email us at email@example.com.
We’ll run the numbers to give you a solid idea of how many leads you can get per month. We’ll also help you determine the optimal number of leads at which to start, so you can build your way up comfortably… and profitably.
P.S. Want to run your own numbers? Visit the No-Risk PPC Lead Generation page. A little more than halfway down the page is a sales calculator. Input your numbers to instantly generate your estimated sales with No-Risk PPC.
Last week, I wrote a post titled: “The question the smartest remodelers ask about PPC advertising.”
That question is “What’s the maximum number of leads you can get me?”
(If you want the answer, send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org. We’ll take a look at your services and location to crunch the numbers and give you an estimate.)
I went on to tell you about some of our biggest PPC clients, including a company that spends up to $230,000 a month on pay-per-click advertising.
Now, let me tell you the fun little story behind the company that spends that much…
I started working with them in 2011. I went up to their office and met with them for a “kick off” meeting like I always do, where we discuss strategies and budgets.
One of their budget items, of course, was PPC. At the time, the company was doing about $40 million a year and had a marketing budget of roughly $4 million.
I scratched my head when I looked at their PPC number for the previous month. It was $20,000.
“$20,000?” I asked, “Why is this number so LOW?”
They responded that that’s just how much they had budgeted. It was $20,000 a month in peak months (seasonal business), and only $10,000 for non-peak months.
When I asked how they came up with that number, they said it was “just how much they allocated.” Basically, it was an arbitrary number.
So I had them pull the records from the previous month, and asked them if the $20,000 lasted the whole month, or if they “ran out.”
Turns out, they had “run out” of PPC money to spend on the 11th of the month.
In other words, from the 12th to the 31st of the month, they spent NOTHING on PPC. Zero. Nada. Zilch. They had no budget left.
Then I had them research what their cost per lead and conversion rate on their PPC leads had been.
Turns out, PPC was their absolute LOWEST cost per lead of ANYTHING they were doing… and the conversions were actually HIGHER than average compared to their other lead sources!
Then I found out (to my horror) that they were only running the PPC campaigns in less than HALF of the geographic area they serviced.
Why? Obviously, they hadn’t allocated enough budget.
Here’s what I said to them, word for word:
“ARE YOU CRAZY?! You should spend every possible PENNY that you can on PPC… BEFORE you spend a single cent on anything else…and I mean ANYTHING else!”
They got the point. They immediately shifted their budget out of less productive things to free it up to “max spend” on PPC.
Over the next six years, their company continued to grow (to well over $100 million), and as their footprint grew, their PPC budget grew as well… all the way up to $230,000 a month.
Honest to goodness, that’s a true story.
And here are the takeaways:
- Not everyone “gets” the power of PPC right away—even really smart people running really successful companies. That’s okay.
- You can grow into PPC. Yes, “unlimited” is the best number of leads to buy. But start with 50 or 100 a month—we’ll help you grow to as many as exist.
If your entire marketing budget is only $20,000 a month, the thought of spending all or most of it on PPC might be frightening.
But realistically, if you stagger your lead flow (50 the first month, 100 the 2nd month, 150 the 3rd month, etc.), you can just let the sales from PPC finance the growth of your company.
In other words…
Instead of having a $20,000 budget and a $2-million company, why not have a $40,000 marketing budget (half in PPC, the other half in whatever you’re already doing) and have a $4-million company?
Boom, you just doubled your sales. And there’s no risk. For proof, visit MYM’s No-Risk PPC Lead Generation page.
Next post, I’ll run the actual numbers on how No-Risk PPC Lead Generation can finance the growth of your company.